The plan this morning was to get up at 7 in the morning, go do my workouts before the kids were up, come home, and get them for a run before breakfast. I’ve been wanting to run so much lately which is weird for me because I hate running.

On a side note, every time I say running it comes out like Forest Gump “Rhunnhinguh”.

But my plans got sideswiped. How? Because for some reason, my apartment complex finds it completely acceptable to run a water pump spray thing at 3 in the morning. Whether some random person just turned the pump on or whether they were actually spraying the moss off of rooftops, I don’t know. What I DO know is that it woke me, my kids, and our animals up. The kids were able to go right back to sleep once the animals were out of their room and not jumping at the window, curious at what stupid people were doing outside. I ended up sleeping on the couch with the animals. Ughhhh

So my 7 am workout didn’t happen. I’m still going to do it. I’ve already missed one day of it so I’m a day behind. Those things happen. But I’m not going to have to delay my end date because I woke up late. Instead I’m going to enjoy my banana oatmeal breakfast, type this blog, and once my food has been gone for an hour, head over to my workout room. And guess what, the run will still happen too. Just not by our house. Instead, I’m taking my kids to a path I’ve been wanting to run on for a few weeks now. We can, because we will completely miss morning traffic now to get there. Why? Because my day has been delayed. Sometimes a delay isn’t a huge bad thing.

So your challenge for the day is to scrap your workout or change it. If you’ve already done it, save this for tomorrow. Just don’t stick to the plan. Be on your toes. If you’re used to the eliptical for an hour, hop off after a half hour and get on the bike.  If you workout in the morning, workout at night. If you head to the gym. head outside instead. What I want you to know is that if a gym is closed for the day, if your kid gets sick and can’t go with you, if your mother in law pops in for breakfast when you’re headed out for a run, don’t give up on working out. Don’t give up on eating right because you dove into a full pint of ice cream. Challenge! Be a little weird!!!